Fantastic Food @ The Bull Inn, Sonning-on-the-Thames

I feel bad, it’s been so long since I last posted, but I have a real humdinger of a meal to write about. I’ve now moved back to Reading, where me job starts in October, and also the town where I went to University. There’s a small village just outside town called Sonning (or Sonning-on-the-Thames if you want to be accurate) which has a superb 17th Century pub called The Bull Inn, operated by Fullers Brewery. The beer is wonderful (large selection of ale), and it’s a mixture of hit-your-head-on-the-wooden-beam and oh-I-didn’t-realise-this-was-built-by-Jane-Austen’s-imagination architecture. Wonderful atmosphere.

The great thing is that the food is as lovely as the pub/restaurant. Above is my dinner companion’s steak and ale pie, which came with perfectly roasted potatoes. Below is my Pork Roquefort, and it was… delicious. Utterly sublime. I came so close to ordering another one. The Roquefort sauce also had sautéed mushrooms and shallots in it. I just… It was amazing.

It may not look like much, but believe me the flavour was huge. Below is a picture of our shared dessert (couldn’t handle one each after the main course!), a sticky toffee pudding, and also a picture of my espresso. I wouldn’t normally post a picture of that, but it came with the tastiest chocolate fudge I’ve ever eaten, and I’ve been to the fudge shops in Bath, Windsor and Cambridge. Wonderful place, great atmosphere, lovely ales, superb food.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Fantastic Food @ The Bull Inn, Sonning-on-the-Thames

Leave a Reply

