So… starting my new cheese resolution

I just rediscovered instagram

The other day I made a mid-year resolution that proved quite popular – to take the time to enjoy more cheese. Well, today was the first step. For my birthday my mate Ant (of Ant Henson fame) sent me, through the post, a wonderfully big piece of Wookey Hole Cave Aged Cheddar (Wookey Hole is not affiliated with Chewbacca or any other Wookies) from the Ford Farm (website here). At the 2011 International Cheese Awards the makers of this cheddar were awarded Supreme Champion, so you know it’s going to be good. From my experience today it works equally well on its own and on a TUC biscuit (the official biscuit of the Trade Union Congress).

Having gone to all the trouble of walking to the shop and buying biscuits, I thought I might as well pair the cheddar up with one of my favourite cheeses – the creamy French classic Port Salut. Not an awful lot to say about Port Salut; there’s no particularly unique flavour, it’s covered in orange colouring, and it’s squidgy enough to imprint your face in it. Somehow, though it’s one of my favourites. Happy memories of University life? Maybe. Regardless, it goes well on TUC biscuits, and is a fine accompaniment to Wookey Hole Cheddar. In fact, it goes so well with it that I unwrapped them both and put them side by side! How about that!

Not quite as big a spread as has been seen before (blupdates passim ad nauseum), but I did what I set out to do: took the time to enjoy some fantastic cheese. Thanks Ant, for the Wookey Hole. You can check out his website/facebook here.

Leave a Reply

