And… this summer could be hilarious

Something a bit different again, today. Having watched the trailers before American Reunion on Saturday, it dawned on me just how many big comedies are coming out this summer. I know that the big money is in Avengers Assemble and The Dark Knight Rises, and I cannot wait to see those films (seeing Avengers tomorrow, huzzah!), but I don’t remember there being a summer line-up of comedies quite like this for some time. Admittedly, I may not have paid much attention, but I still think it’s striking. Here, then, in no particular order, are the comedies I am most looking forward to seeing in the next few months.

The Dictator

I know, I know, it’s extremely inappropriate and downright insulting to a large portion of the world’s population, but… It just looks so funny. And as Sacha Baron Cohen as done away with the documentary style of Borat and Bruno, hopefully this will be slightly less cringe-comedy.

Ted

I love Family Guy, American Dad and The Cleveland Show, so when I heard about Seth MacFarlane making a movie about a teddy bear… What a fantastic concept. And with Mark Wahlberg and Mila Kunis bringing the funnies as well, this might just turn into my favourite movie of all time.

Rock of Ages

Big admission – I love Hairspray. It’s infectious, catchy and above all, fun. Also, who doesn’t love hair metal? I don’t know how it came across back in the 80s (not being there, and all), but now songs by Def Leppard and the like are just fun, big party tunes. Put all of this together with a great ensemble cast, and I’m hoping Rock of Ages will be an absolute blast. I honestly never thought I would look forward to a Tom Cruise film.

The Three Stooges

Actually, just watched the trailer sober, and this looks terrible.

Men In Black 3

I don’t think I need to elaborate much on this. MIB 1 was an amazing film, an absolute classic, and 2 was ok. Hopefully the time they’ve spent on making number 3, and the welcome addition of Jermaine Clement from Flight of the Conchords, will make this the perfect end to the trilogy.

The Five Year Engagement

Any film that include the line “Masturbation can solve pretty much any problem” is going to be worth a watch, assuming it can legally be shown in a cinema. Very good cast too, including Alison Brie sporting a British accent. Should be good.

Moonrise Kingdom

Wes Anderson. ‘Nuff said.

2 thoughts on “And… this summer could be hilarious

Leave a Reply

