And… Good grief that’s decadent

How I like desserts – multiple

Some of you may know about my long-lasting love affair with the Food Network (channel 49 on Freeview), and, like all relationships, changes can go either way. We have our system: first up there’s Ina Garten with the Barefoot Contessa (never reviewed it, as how do you talk about perfection?), then Diners, Drive-ins and Dives (drooled over here), followed by Cupcake Wars (cakes and bitchiness – what’s not to love?). So what happens when the Food Network introduces a new interruption to our schedule? Well, previous attempts about Mexican food have left us feeling hollow inside, but we decided to give Unique Sweets a go anyway.

And… thank goodness we did. I think a cookery programme’s quality can be measured by the number of oohs and aahs and “I simply HAVE to try that”s that you get, and Unique Sweets scores highly on all three counts. Above is a picture of a Pear & Chestnut Verrine flavoured with Rum Anejo, from the Tribeca Grill. Look at the picture and tell me you don’t have saliva dribbling down your chin. Filthy animal. The show is a very simple concept – get famous food reviewers/bloggers/chefs to talk about their favourite bakeries/restaurants/chocolatiers, with lots of shots of the gooey final product. Here is one particularly fine example, Purefection in Quincy, MA:

On Monday night we were treated to the first episode of the second series, titled L.A. Decadence. The highlight for me was this family run restaurant that has perfected the Belgian national dish – the waffle:

I hope you enjoy this show as much as I do. It is a welcome addition to our evening viewing, and fits in very well with Ina, Guy et al.

P.S. I’m thinking about changing the name of the blog. RileysRandomReview was all very well and good when I intended to actually review lots of things, but now I’m mostly talking about food… Does anyone have any suggestions? Or shall I leave it as it is? Answers either on a postcard, or in the comment box below

3 thoughts on “And… Good grief that’s decadent

  1. I don’t know that I’ve ever been in charge of the remote long enough to catch this show… guess I know what channel I’m headed to the next time I do! Love me some foodie shows, and I’m all about sweets!!

Leave a Reply

