And… it’s time for a cheese update

Winterdale Shaw and a sundried tomato. Tastes better than it looks.

So, I think we covered in the last post that I like cheese. One thing I discovered tonight was that I also like sundried tomatoes. I don’t know how I’ve made it 22 years without trying them, but me likey, even though they look unappetising in iPhone photos. This is just a brief cheese update, and I promise that tomorrow we’ll move away from the topic of cheeses, though I can’t make any commitment as to how long that ban will stay in place. I love cheese.

So I’ll start with the cheese in the picture, the Winterdale Shaw, the plain version. Nutty and lemony, yes, and subtle certainly, yet it manages to hold its flavour on a cheesy biscuit with a sundried tomato. I tried it with a mature cheddar afterwards and couldn’t taste the cheddar at all, so kudos to WS. The smoked WS has a huge flavour, very oaky, and it fitted in well with the whiskey I washed it down with (Glenlanarach 10-year-old, if you’re interested). I was surprised to see it veined with blue, as you can’t pick up any tang from it on a blind taste test (check out the hugely technical language going on here). Highly enjoyable though, and it will make a great change to the generic Applewood smoked Cheddar you get in the supermarket. I think I’ll put The Cheese Box on my speed dial.

The Oxford Blue is simply perfect to cook with. It melted down very nicely, leaving a rich, creamy sauce when the steak was cooked in red wine. It doesn’t overpower the taste of the steak, yet it enhances everything else on the plate (in this case buttered spinach and garlic roast potatoes). It stands up very nicely on its own too. Well, “stands” is probably the wrong word as it’s based on a brie recipe. Oozes well on its own is probably a more apt description. If you happen to stumble across the Oxford Blue (that was its name, there was no clue as to which farm it’s from), then I urge you to try it. It ain’t the strongest blue cheese in the world, but it’s a fine example of a cheese made right.

Leave a Reply

